Mythopoeic Award Winners 2013.

July 18, 2013 | By | Reply More

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature: Ursula Vernon, Digger, vols. 1-6 (Sofawolf Press).

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature: Sarah Beth Durst, Vessel (Margaret K. McElderry).

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies: Verlyn Flieger, Green Suns and Faërie: Essays on J.R.R. Tolkien (Kent State Univ. Press, 2012).

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies: Nancy Marie Brown, Song of the Vikings: Snorri and the Making of Norse Myths (Palgrave Macmillan, 2012).

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume or single-author story collection for adults published during 2012 that best exemplifies ‘the spirit of the Inklings’. Books are eligible for two years after publication if not selected as a finalist during the first year of eligibility. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears. The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature honours books for younger readers (from ‘Young Adults’ to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of ‘The Hobbit’ or ‘The Chronicles Of Narnia’. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult Literature award. The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees.

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature: Ursula Vernon, Digger, vols. 1-6 (Sofawolf Press).

Ursula Vernon, Digger.

The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during the last three years (2010–2012) are eligible, including finalists for previous years. The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.

The winners of this year’s awards were announced at Mythcon 44 in East Lansing, Michigan, on July 14, 2013. A complete list of Mythopoeic Award winners is available on the Society web site:

http://www.mythsoc.org/awards/

The finalists for the literature awards, text of recent acceptance speeches, and selected book reviews are also listed in this on-line section.

Tags:

Category: Awards, Fantasy

avatar

About the Author ()

Geoff Willmetts has been editor at SFCrowsnest for some 15 plus years now, showing a versatility and knowledge in not only Science Fiction, but also the sciences and arts, all of which has been displayed here through editorials, reviews, articles and stories. With the latter, he has been running a short story series under the title of ‘Psi-Kicks’ If you want to contribute to SFCrowsnest, read the guidelines and show him what you can do. If it isn’t usable, he spends as much time telling you what the problems is as he would with material he accepts. This is largely how he got called an Uncle, as in Dutch Uncle. He’s not actually Dutch but hails from the west country in the UK.

Leave a Reply

Enjoy scifi? Please spread the word :)