RSSCategory: GENRE

The Commons by Matthew Hughes (book review)

December 3, 2016 | By | 1 Reply More
The Commons by Matthew Hughes  (book review)

I first came across Matthew Hughes in ‘Interzone’ a few years back and was immediately struck by the story’s similarity to something that might have been written by Jack Vance. Of course, I’m not the only one to have spotted that and the cover of this and his other books makes that comparison. This book […]

Read More

Protecting The Planet by Budd Titlow & Mariah Tinger (book review).

December 3, 2016 | By | Reply More
Protecting The Planet by Budd Titlow & Mariah Tinger (book review).

There is never a good time to put out a book on climate change and if you want a really sobering look at what is happening to our environment today then you need to read ‘Protecting The Planet’ by environmentalists Budd Titlow & his daughter, Mariah Tinger. As an American book, it does tend to […]

Read More

Tales From The Crypt Vol. 3 # 1 (comicbook review)

December 2, 2016 | By | Reply More
Tales From The Crypt Vol. 3  # 1   (comicbook review)

In the tradition of EC Comics, ‘Tales From The Crypt’ has been raised from the dead by the Papercutz’ Super Genius imprint and promises to deliver horror unfit for children, so be warned. As in days of yore, the tales are hosted by the Crypt-Keeper, the Old Witch and the Vault-Keeper. The Crypt-Keeper introduces the […]

Read More

Dune – new movie in the offing. The spice (and money) must flow?

December 2, 2016 | By | Reply More
Dune – new movie in the offing. The spice (and money) must flow?

Movie studio Legendary Entertainment and the Frank Herbert estate have just reached an agreement giving Legendary the film and television motion picture rights to the Dune series of science fiction novels. The agreement inks the development and production of new film and television projects for a global audience. The projects will be produced by Thomas […]

Read More

Damnation For Beginners by Alan Campbell (book review)

December 2, 2016 | By | Reply More
Damnation For Beginners by Alan Campbell   (book review)

‘Damnation For Beginners’ is a novella set in the world of Alan Campbell’s ‘Deepgate Codex’ and follows the story of Jack Aviso, a bank teller at Henry Sill Banking Corporation in the city of Cog. Jack has been keeping his head down and following the rules of the entirely unfair and corrupt bank. Their policies […]

Read More

Lone Wolf author Joe Dever dies, turn to page 56 for very sad funeral.

November 30, 2016 | By | Reply More
Lone Wolf author Joe Dever dies, turn to page 56 for very sad funeral.

Joe Dever’s local newspaper, the East London and West Sussex Guardian, is reporting that author Joe – creator of the Lone Wolf series of gaming adventure books (let’s call it a craze, it was a craze), has passed away age 60 after unexpected bile duct surgery caused him to cancel on a SFF and gaming convention […]

Read More

Understanding Contemporary American Science Fiction: The Formative Period, 1926-1970 by Thomas D. Clareson (book review)

November 30, 2016 | By | Reply More
Understanding Contemporary American Science Fiction: The Formative Period, 1926-1970 by Thomas D. Clareson  (book review)

Something I discovered a while back from a chat with Gordon van Gelder, publisher of the magazine ‘The Magazine Of Fantasy & Science Fiction’, is that in the USA, there is no single Internet bookstore like Eurospan that gathers up the various American university presses like it does for non-American consumption that makes tracking down […]

Read More

The Truth Is A Cave In The Black Mountains by Neil Gaiman and illustrated by Eddie Campbell (book review)

November 30, 2016 | By | Reply More
The Truth Is A Cave In The Black Mountains by Neil Gaiman and illustrated by Eddie Campbell  (book review)

‘The Truth Is A Cave In The Black Mountains’ is an illustrated novelette set in the Isle of Skye written by Neil Gaiman. The story follows the journey of a dwarf who hires a guide, Calum MacInnes, to take him to the cave in the black mountains. The cave itself contains golden treasure but the […]

Read More

Jubal Van Zandt And The Revenge Of The Bloodslinger by eden Hudson (book review).

November 29, 2016 | By | Reply More
Jubal Van Zandt And The Revenge Of The Bloodslinger by eden Hudson (book review).

I must admit that ‘Jubal Van Zandt And The Revenge Of The Bloodslinger’ by eden Hudson has the distinction of having the longest title of any book I have read recently. It may be a long title but at 218 pages its quite a short book. In case you are wondering, it is indeed ‘eden […]

Read More

Science Fiction Stars And Horror Heroes by Tom Weaver (book review).

November 29, 2016 | By | Reply More
Science Fiction Stars And Horror Heroes by Tom Weaver (book review).

Looking at the book list in the indicia, I thought I’ve reviewed nearly all of Tom Weaver’s excellent interview books until I checked the back cover and found six I haven’t. As he points out in the introduction to this one, ‘Science Fiction Stars And Horror Heroes’, which originally came out as a library edition […]

Read More

Enjoy scifi? Please spread the word :)