avatar

Author Archive: DaveHardy

David A. Hardy, FBIS, FIAAA is the longest-established living space artist in the West, being first published in 1952. From working almost exclusively in water colours and gouache he has gone on to embrace acrylics, oils, pastels and, since 1991, digital art on a Mac. For more art, including prints of this and other works, visit http://www.astroart.org, where you can find many links, tutorials, books and prints and originals for sale.
Dave is Vice President of the Association of Science Fiction & Fantasy Artists (ASFA) and European VP of the International Association of Astronomical Artists (IAAA), and has an asteroid named after him! His SF novel 'Aurora' is now available in a revised and updated edition on Amazon etc. See a review of this and an interview with Pauline Morgan (November 2012) here: http://sfcrowsnest.org.uk/?s=hardy

rss feed Facebook YouTube

Author's Website

Christianity In The Light Of Science edited by John W. Loftus (book review).

October 18, 2016 | By | Reply More
Christianity In The Light Of Science edited by John W. Loftus (book review).

I should start by pointing out that ‘Christianity In The Light Of Science’ is a US publication. America and Britain differ considerably in their attitudes to religion, leaving out its now-extensive Muslim and other populations, much of the UK is basically secular, attending church only for marriages, christenings and funerals. Why they do so, is […]

Read More

Evening’s Empires by Paul McAuley (book review)

April 29, 2016 | By | Reply More
Evening’s Empires by Paul McAuley    (book review)

This new novel, ‘Evening’s Empires’, is set in the same well-imagined ‘universe’ as the author’s ‘The Quiet War’, ‘Gardens Of The Sun’ and ‘In The Mouth Of The Whale’ but 1,500 years have passed since ‘The Quiet War’. I wondered where the title, which sounds like a quote, came from and found it in Bob […]

Read More

Twenty Trillion Leagues Under The Sea by Adam Roberts (book review).

April 22, 2016 | By | Reply More
Twenty Trillion Leagues Under The Sea by Adam Roberts (book review).

Anyone who has read Adam Roberts’ books will know not to expect a straightforward Science Fiction story. He likes to take classic SF works, such as Jonathan Swift and, in this case, Jules Verne, whom he previously referenced in 2007 in ‘Splinter’, and reinvent them in unexpected ways. He is professor of 19th century Literature […]

Read More

Crash by Guy Haley (book review)

March 26, 2016 | By | Reply More
Crash by Guy Haley    (book review)

I’d like to start by saying that this is the best ‘hard’ SF book that I’ve read since, probably, ‘The Martian’. Not that it has much in common with that, other than people being abandoned on a strange planet, but the science is good, the author has done his research and the characters are interesting […]

Read More

Roboteer by Alex Lamb (book review).

July 7, 2015 | By | Reply More
Roboteer by Alex Lamb (book review).

The last year or so seems to have been a good one for new hard-SF authors. First we had Andy Weir’s remarkable ‘The Martian’ and now along comes Alex Lamb’s ‘Roboteer’. The latter has been hailed as perfect for fans of Peter F. Hamilton and Alastair Reynolds and I have to concur. Certainly the size […]

Read More

Depth by Lev AC Rosen (book review).

June 24, 2015 | By | Reply More
Depth by Lev AC Rosen (book review).

There seems to be a trend for near-future SF thrillers set in a post-global warming, flooded Earth, as witness my recent review for ‘Arctic Rising’ by Tobias S. Buckell and its sequel, ‘Hurricane Fever’. ‘Depth’ is a whodunit, pure and simple, featuring a female private eye, Simone Pierce; but the science fictional background is essential […]

Read More

Hurricane Fever (book 2) by Tobia S. Buckell (book review).

May 28, 2015 | By | Reply More
Hurricane Fever (book 2) by Tobia S. Buckell (book review).

‘Hurricane Fever’ is, in effect, a sequel to Tobias Buckell’s previous novel, ‘Arctic Rising’. However, only one of its chief characters, the male but female-named Prudence ‘Roos’ Jones, is featured here and, although I recommend that you see my review on SFC, http://sfcrowsnest.org.uk/arctic-rising-by-tobias-s-buckell-book-review/, you may safely read this novel as a standalone. There is none […]

Read More

Arctic Rising by Tobias S. Buckell (book review).

May 26, 2015 | By | 1 Reply More
Arctic Rising by Tobias S. Buckell (book review).

Tobias S. Buckell was born in the Caribbean, a long way from the Arctic! But he spent his younger days on boats in the British and US Virgin Islands, explaining his obviously in-depth knowledge of sea-craft, which feature heavily in this novel. I thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘Arctic Rising’, which is both a good, fast-paced thriller […]

Read More

My Real Children by Jo Walton (book review).

May 1, 2015 | By | Reply More
My Real Children by Jo Walton (book review).

 I asked to review ‘My Real Children’ partly because I met Jo Walton and provided the cover for her ‘Guest of Honour Special’ at Novacon 43 but had never read any of her novels and also because it was listed as ‘SF’. It isn’t – at least not ‘as we know it’ – and neither […]

Read More

Angel Of Europa by Allen Steele (book review).

April 14, 2015 | By | Reply More
Angel Of Europa by Allen Steele (book review).

Since ‘Angel Of Europa’ by Allen Steele was billed as ‘Deluxe Hardcover Edition’ at $35.00, I was rather taken aback to find that it arrived as a slender paperback. However, this is an Advance Uncorrected Proof (I didn’t find many typos or errors), so I suppose this partially explains it. Even so, at only 90 […]

Read More

Enjoy scifi? Please spread the word :)